Apple, Pomegranate, and Pistachio Salad

SAMSUNG CSCI’m back with another yummy recipe! I am really into pomegranates lately. They are so pretty and exciting. I love them!
I have been avoiding meat this month(look for a blog about this in feb:) So you can imagine I am getting bored by now with a normal salad. I decided to jazz this one up with some yummy fruits and pistachios. I prefer to use balsamic vinegar for my dressing but you could really use any dressing that is light, tangy and sweet. I don’t measure when I make salads. I just toss everything in the bowl and see how it looks. I added extra apples because one of my dinner guests loves ‘Apple Salad’. I have made this before with slices of toasted bread with goat cheese on it. Toss it in the oven until warm and brown on top. One of my favorite chill places in Dallas, The Old Monk, has a great salad with warm goat cheese. This takes me back to that patio every time. So have fun with it and use this as inspiration!

Heres the Recipe!

Apple, Pomegranate and Pistachio Salad

Ingredients:
6 cups mixed greens: Washed and prepped for Salad
1/2 cup pomegranate seeds
1 granny smith apple sliced into match sticks
1/4 cup unsalted, shelled pistachios
6 small slices of bread (I used sourdough) optional
6 tablespoons fresh goat cheese optional

Throw your greens into a bowl. Top with pomegranate seeds, apple, and pistachios. If using toasted goat cheese, slice bread into small (two bite) slices. Top each piece with 1 tablespoon of goat cheese. Preheat oven broiler. Place cheese topped toast under the broiler. Just for a few minutes until the cheese just barely browns. Remove from oven being careful they are super hot and melty. Top salad with toast and dressing of choice.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

